10 biggest achievements of Indian Cricket Team

Cricket in India is not just a game it’s a religion in India. Today Indian cricket team is one of the World’s best team (currently when I’m writing this, India ranks Number 1 in ICC test ranking). But the journey was not that easy, there are some milestones that Indian cricket team has crossed during this journey. Take a look how India reached this position.

  1. 1983 cricket world cup winning indian teamINDIA won World Cup, 1983

    This is biggest achievement of Indian cricket team till date. 25th June 1983, India beats defending champion West Indies in the final by 43 runs. When Indian captain Kapil Dev lifts the World Cup at Lord’s in England, the World gets the 2nd champion of the ODI cricket after West Indies. Man of the Match in the Final & Semi-final Mohinder Amarnath’s all-round performance in the tournament helps India to become the World Champion.

  2. t20 world cup 2007 winning teamINDIA won ICC World T20, 2007

    24th September 2007, India won the inaugurate ICC World T20 Championship by beating Pakistan by 5 runs in a thrilling final at Johannesburg, South Africa. Indian T20 captain M. S. Dhoni becomes first captain ever to lift the trophy of ICC World T20 Championship. Player of the final Irfan Pathan’s brilliant bowling (4-0-16-3) and Indian Opener Gautam Gambhir’s excellent knock (75 runs of 54 balls) helps India to win the final. . One of the biggest record in the tournament done by Yuvraj Singh by hitting 6 sixes in an over & scoring 50 in just 12 balls.

  3. international cricket councilINDIA achieved Number-One in ICC Test ranking, 2009

    6th December 2009, India is only the third team after Australia and South Africa to surge to the top of the ladder since the Test Championship was first introduced in May 2001. India’s ascent to the No.1 position in the ICC Test ratings is largely due to their improved performances overseas which were started under the captaincy of Sourav Ganguly and continued under the captaincy of Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, & current Indian captain M. S. Dhoni. Basement of this success majorly constructed by the Fabulous 5 of the Indian Cricket (Tendulkar, Kumble, Ganguly, Dravid & Laxman). Shewag, Harbhajan, Zaheer Khan, Dhoni & Gambhir the Young Stars are also contributed consistently to achieve the No. 1 spot in Test ranking.

  4. ICC Champions Trophy 2002 wining captainsINDIA was joint winner of ICC Champions Trophy, 2002

    30th September 2002, after two days of one innings play and second session rain, the ICC Champions Trophy 2002 is sharing between Sanath Jayasuriya’s Sri Lanka and Sourav Ganguly’s India. Both the final India restricted Sri Lanka 244 & 222 runs but not able to complete the chase due to rain.

  5. MS Dhoni lifts the Asia CupINDIA wins Asia Cup 5 times

    After 15 long years, on 24th June 2010, India repeats the history after clinching Asia Cup against Sri Lanka by 81 runs in the final at Dambulla, Sri Lanka. It is the 5th occasion that India wins the Asia Cup title since the inauguration of tournament way back in 1984. India reached the Asia Cup final 8 times out of 10 times and won 5 times (1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995 & 2010).

  6. hero cup 1993 finalINDIA won Hero Cup, 1993

    27th November 1993, India wins the Cricket Association of Bengal Tournament (5-Nation Hero Cup) 1993 by comprehensively beating West Indies by 102 runs in the final at Eden Gardens, Calcutta(now Kolkata). The Indian captain Md. Azharuddin was the Man of the Tournament. India wins the final for the excellent bowling by the Man of the Match of Final Anil Kumble (6.1-2-12-6).

  7. Benson & Hedges Final, Melbourne, March 10, 1985 India vs PakistanINDIA won Benson & Hedges Cup, 1985

    10th March 1985, India beats Pakistan by 8 wickets in the Benson & Hedges World Championship of Cricket final at MCG, Australia. India dominates the tournament and remain unbeaten. Highlights of the tournament are Man of the Series Ravi Shastri’s all-round performance (182 runs & 8 wickets in 5 matches), Man of the Final K. Srikkanth (283 runs in 5 matches), L. Sivaramakrishnan’s 10 wickets, 9 wickets each for Kapil Dev & Madan Lal in the tournament and excellent performance by the top order batsman D. Vengsarkar(135) & M.Azharuddin(187).

  8. Border Gavaskar Trophy, 2001INDIA won the Border Gavaskar Trophy, 2001

    22nd March 2001, India wins the Border Gavaskar Trophy (IND v AUS 3 Matches Test Series). 2nd Test at Eden Gardens when Australia leads the series 1-0 and forces India to Follow-on, India comeback strongly by the 376 runs partnership between Laxman(281 runs) & Dravid(180 runs) and Harbhajan Singh’s wicket fest including a Hat trick . Since then India dominates the series and wins last 2 Tests as well as the Series 2-1. Man of the Series Harbhajan Singh takes 32 wickets. Indian captain Sourav Ganguly wins the popular Rivalry against Australian captain Steve Waugh.

  9. Coca Cola Cup Final, Sharjah, April 24, 1998INDIA won The Coca-Cola Cup Sharjah, 1998

    24th April 1998, India wins the Coca-Cola Cup (Ind-Aus-NZ) in Sharjah by beating mighty Australia by 6 wickets in the final. Man of the Tournament & Final Sachin Tendulkar’s back to back Century which is comparing with the Sand Strom at Sharjah helps India to reaches the final and Indian captain Md. Azharuddin to lift the Trophy.

  10. Ganguly Without Shirt Lords NatWest Trophy, 2002INDIA won NatWest Trophy, 2002

    13th July 2002, India wins the Trophy by a thrilling 2 wickets victory over England at Lord’s. Yuvraj Singh(69 runs) and Man of the Final Mohammad Kaif(87* runs) has seized the initiative back for India after a sudden collapse has seemed to dash their hopes when they are chasing huge 326 runs.Indian captain Sourav Ganguly celebrate the winning moment by taking his shirt off and flying it over head at the historical Lord’s balcony as he takes revenge against English All-rounder Andrew Flintoff’s charged topless around the Wankhede Stadium a few months earlier.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.