Orissa is now named as Odisha

Today 9th November 2010 Indian parliament has passed the bill to change the name of the state from Orissa to Odisha. And its language from Oriya to Odia.
Back in 2008 Orissa State government ruled by BJD submitted a proposal to the central government to change the name from Orissa that was given by British Government 70 years ago. At that time Orissa State Home Secretary TK Mishra, took up the matter with the Union Ministry of Social Justice in New Delhi, remarked that the state’s name ought to be Odisha instead of Orissa.

In the past Odisha was part of Bengal(undivided), after that it was a part of Bihar. The state crafted on April 1, 1936, and and British government gave it the name Orissa which was adopted by the Indian Constitution in 1950.
The bill to change the name of the eastern state was introduced in the parliament in this year’s budget session and was passed on the first day of the month-long winter session by electronic balloting. This required an amendment to the constitution and had to be approved by two-thirds majority of the house. While it got a ballot result of 277:1.
Before that many Indian cities and states have been renamed after independence, including Kanpur (formerly Cawnpore), Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Mumbai (Bombay), Chennai (Madras), Kolkata (Calcutta), Pune (Poona), Kochi (Cochin) and North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA) to Arunachal Pradesh.

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.